Trust Conference

About The Award

The Stop Slavery Award was launched by the Thomson Reuters Foundation, as an action resulting from the 2015 Trust Conference.

The initiative recognises companies that have taken concrete steps to eradicate forced labour from their supply chains. The aim is to create a virtuous cycle, a positive paradigm to demonstrate that business can play a critical role in putting an end to modern-day slavery worldwide.

The Stop Slavery Award gives public recognition to corporations that are 'best in class' at demonstrating integrity, courage and innovation in cleaning their supply chains.

The 2016 winners were presented with an Anish Kapoor statue at the Trust Women Conference on November 30, 2016, and received the right to use the Stop Slavery Award logo for one year. This year, the 2017 winner(s) will also be entitled to use an Anish Kapoor statue and a licence to use the Stop Slavery Award logo, both in exchange for a fee. Please see the Competition rules for further details.

The display of the logo will help guide consumer decisions and contribute to raising cross-sector awareness on the issue of forced labour, encouraging more companies to take similar action in addressing unfair and illegal labour practices in their own supply chains.

Applying for the Award

The submission period for the 2017 Stop Slavery Award has now closed.

The winner(s) will be announced at the Trust Conference on 15th November 2017 - stay tuned for further updates.

For further information please contact the Stop Slavery Award team at

Download the questions
Background information

Apply now
Applications are now closed.

2017 Shortlisted Candidates

Now in its second year, the Award recognises businesses that have set a gold standard in efforts to eradicate forced labour from their supply chains. Winners will be announced at the Thomson Reuters Foundation’s annual human rights conference, Trust Conference, on November 15, in London.

Adidas, Walmart, Nestlé and Barclays Plc are amongst the biggest global brands selected from a number of applicants spanning clothing and food retailers to hospitality companies. The winning companies will receive a sculpture by world-renowned artist Anish Kapoor, as well as the right to use the Stop Slavery Award logo for one year. The artwork, created by Kapoor especially for the initiative, was first unveiled at the inaugural Awards ceremony at last year’s conference.

An independent third party, Melissa Kim, developed a decision matrix to assess the submissions. Using the decision matrix, she compared company responses to an assessment criteria that identified a company's practice as leading, base compliant, or lagging on a scale of 1-10 with individual weighting per question. The assessment criteria was developed using a combination of existing standards (e.g., UK Modern Slavery Act, US Federal Acquisition Requirements) and best practices (e.g.,2016 Know the Chain Benchmarking Methodology, 2016 Business Authentication Criteria).

Based on overall scores, 15 companies demonstrated leading practices with evidence of implementation. These 15 leading companies constituted the shortlist for the Judging Board's review for the 2017 Stop Slavery Award (in alphabetical order):

See previous Shortlisted Candidates

Find out more



At the 2016 Awards

See all photos

Award Ceremony with Monique Villa and Anish Kapoor

Panel discussion

See all videos


The Stop Slavery Award Judging Board (below) brings together some of the world’s highest-profile leaders in the fight against slavery.

Kailash Satyarthi

Nobel Peace Prize Winner

Patricia Viseur Sellers

International Criminal Lawyer

Kevin Hyland

UK Independent Anti-Slavery Commissioner

Cyrus R. Vance, Jr.

District Attorney, New York County

Kenneth Roth

Executive Director, Human Rights Watch

Monique Villa

CEO of the Thomson Reuters Foundation and Founder of TrustLaw and Trust Women

About the Prize

The Stop Slavery Award is a sculpture conceived by Anish Kapoor especially for this initiative. The artist first became involved with Trust Women in 2014, when he delivered a keynote speech on the important role art must play in raising public awareness of modern-day slavery.

Anish Kapoor has spent the past two years conceptualising the Award through a number of striking designs that encapsulate the complexity of the issue.

Find out more about the conceptualisation of the award below:


Putting the rule of law behind human rights


Experience Trust Conference